Bracewell, Kerr win top honours at Cricket Wellington Norwood Awards

Michael Bracewell and Melie Kerr have won the Firebirds and Blaze Cricketer of the Year awards on the final day of Cricket Wellington’s Celebration of Cricket.

Bracewell, who also won the Dream11 Super Smash Player of the Year award as part of the ANZ New Zealand Cricket awards, has enjoyed a breakthrough summer for the Firebirds which saw him make his BLACKCAPS debut against the Netherlands earlier this month.

The Firebirds skipper has led the way for the Firebirds this summer, topping the Dream11 Super Smash run-scoring charts with 489 runs at an average of 79.67, including a domestic New Zealand record knock of 141 not out against the Central Stags at Pukekura Park.

Bracewell scored 876 runs and took 21 wickets across all three formats in the domestic summer before scoring 127 as captain of the New Zealand XI side against the Netherlands in a three-match warm-up series.

Melie Kerr has enjoyed yet another memorable summer, showing vast improvements in her batting and establishing herself as one of the world’s leading genuine allrounders.

Kerr was a key part of the Spotlight Reporting Blaze’s unbeaten Super Smash triumph, scoring 346 runs and taking 17 wickets and taking home the Super Smash Player of the Year award has part of the ANZ New Zealand cricket awards.

She was also prolific in the Hallyburton Johnstone Shield campaign taking 14 wickets and scoring 178 runs, helping the Blaze reach the Grand Final.

Kerr transferred her form to the international arena, establishing herself at number three in the WHITE FERNS batting order for the ICC Women’s World Cup in March.

She scored 353 runs at an average of 117 across the warm-up ODI series against India, including an unbeaten 119 followed by three half-centuries in a row.

Her performances for the WHITE FERNS also saw her take home the ANZ International Women’s ODI Player of the Year award at the ANZ New Zealand cricket awards.

Eastern Suburbs’ Ronnie Nathu was awarded the Mike Curtis Cup for outstanding contributions to club cricket.

A Life Member of the club, with over ten years of experience as Club President, Nathu has taken on all manner of tasks this year, including Treasurer, Selector, Club Manager and Premier Team Manager.

Nathu’s contributions to the club during Club Treasurer Gordon Dry’s absence exemplify the volunteering spirit that is so essential to grassroots sport in Wellington.

North City’s Ava Conroy and Johnsonville’s Raki Weerasundara were awarded the Trish McKelvey Cup and Bruce Murray Medals.

The awards recognise fair play in women’s and men’s club cricket – the Trish McKelvey Cup is nominated by premier women’s coaches, while the Bruce Murray Medal is nominated by umpires and opposition captains from captain’s reports.

The unsung heroes of umpiring and scoring were also celebrated as Tyron Davies was named as Umpire of the Year, while Victoria University’s Matt Frost was named Scorer of the Year.


2021/22 Cricket Wellington Norwood and Club award winners

Norwood Award – Firebirds Cricketer of the Year – Michael Bracewell
Norwood Award – Blaze Cricketer of the Year – Melie Kerr
Men’s Outstanding Batter of the Year – Troy Johnson
Women’s Outstanding Batter of the Year – Melie Kerr
Men’s Outstanding Bowler of the Year – Nathan Smith
Women’s Outstanding Bowler of the Year – Leigh Kasperek
Dream11 Super Smash Player’s Player of the Year – Michael Bracewell
Ford Trophy Player’s Player of the Year – Troy Johnson
Plunket Shield Player’s Player of the Year – Nathan Smith
Overall Player’s Player of the Year – Michael Bracewell
Men’s Best Fielder – Nathan Smith
Women’s Best Fielder – Georgia Plimmer
Men’s Best Allrounder – Michael Bracewell
Women’s Best Allrounder – Melie Kerr
Most Promising Female Player – Georgia Plimmer
Most Promising Male Player – Tim Robinson
Provincial A Men’s Player of the Year – Devan Vishvaka
Provincial A Women’s Player of the Year – Kate Chandler
U23 Young Cricketer of the Year – Rachin Ravindra
U20 Young Cricketer of the Year – Tim Robinson
U19 Female Player of the Year – Rachel Bryant
U19 Male Player of the Year – Kevin Weerasundara


Mike Curtis Cup – Ronnie Nathu (Eastern Suburbs)
Bruce Murray Medal – Raki Weerasundara
Trish McKelvey Medal – Ava Conroy
Umpire of the Year – Tyron Davies
Scorer of the Year - Matt Frost
Women’s Senior Club Cricketer of the Year – Caitlin King
Men’s Senior Club Cricketer of the Year – Lauchie Johns
Best Lower Grade Performance – Andy Ellis (Eastern Suburbs)
Arthur Dick Cup (most runs in premier men) – Lauchie Johns
Judith Sadler Cup (most runs in premier women) – Antonia Hamilton
Ron Murray Cup (most wickets in premier men) – Felix Murray
Majorie Sweetman Cup (most wickets in premier women) – Bethany Trethewey
Royal Visit Cup (Wellington Aggregate) – Eastern Suburbs
Norwood Cup (Wellington Average) – Upper Hutt United
Best and Fairest Club Captain – Nik Swain (Taita District)
Best and Fairest Team – Taita District Premier Men
Ground of the Year – Fraser Park

Article added: Wednesday 13 April 2022