Age-group stars celebrated

The star performers of the Wellington pathway teams were celebrated at the All-Round HVAC Cricket Wellington age-group awards ceremony this afternoon.

Young Blaze allrounder Tash Codyre was awarded the Penny Kinsella Trophy for Under-19 Women’s Most Valuable Player.

Codyre has had a breakthrough year as part of the Wellington Blaze squad and was selected alongside fellow Blaze player Georgia Plimmer in the first ever New Zealand Under-19 women’s team to face a New Zealand Police Women’s XI and a New Zealand Provincial Women’s XI.

Tim Robinson was awarded the Robert Vance Trophy for Under-19 Men’s Most Valuable Player.

The Onslow allrounder was the standout player at the National Under 19 tournament in Lincoln, topping the run-scoring charts with 325 runs.

Allrounder Lachie Bailey was awarded the Gavin Larsen Trophy for Under-17 Boys Most Valuable Player.

Bailey scored 162 runs at an average of 54 and a strike rate of 116 across both T20 and 50-over games at the U17 National Tournament in Palmerston North. He also took 10 wickets at an average of 10.40 with a best performance of 4-16.

He was also selected in the New Zealand Maori Schoolboys XI which played a Governor General XI at Karori Park in February.

Dylan McArdle picked up the Chris Nevin Trophy for the Year 10 Boys Most Valuable Player, while spinner Kate Chandler was awarded the Sophie Devine Trophy for Under-15 Girls Most Valuable Player.

At the Central District Year 9 and 10 Cricket Festival, Chandler was fourth overall in the MVP standings scoring 131 runs at average of 65.5 with a strike-rate of 120 and a high score of 51 not out. She also took five wickets at an average of 13.40.


Chandler was also awarded with a Blaze debut where she picked up best figures of 5-41 off nine overs against the Canterbury Magicians in the Hallyburton Johnstone Shield.


In the year 10 zone tournament and the Year 10 Development teams games, McArdle scored 324 runs in six innings, only being dismissed three times, finishing with an average of 108, a strike-rate of 112 and a high-score of 86.


Alex McAslan and Anvi Verma rounded out the awards as they won the Year 9 Boys and Under-13 Girls Most Valuable Player awards.


At the Year 10 zone tournament, playing for the Year 9 Development Team, McAslan was fourth overall in the MVP standings. At the Lower North Island  tournament in Masterton, Verma finished first overall in the CricHQ MVP standings, scoring 88 runs without being dismissed with a high score of 56* and a strike-rate of 169. Anvi also took five wickets at an impressive average of four with best figures of 4-4.

 The afternoon also included a question-and-answer session with Blaze spinner Xara Jetly and Firebirds batsman Troy Johnson, both successful graduates of the Cricket Wellington pathway.


All-Round HVAC Cricket Wellington Age-Group Awards

WFS U19 Men’s Most Valuable Player (Robert Vance Trophy) – Tim Robinson
Admark U19 Women’s Most Valuable Player (Penny Kinsella Trophy) – Natasha Codyre
WFS U17 Boys Most Valuable Player (Gavin Larsen Trophy) – Lachie Bailey
WFS Year 10 Boys MVP (Chris Nevin Trophy) – Dylan McArdle
Admark U15 Girls MVP (Sophie Devine Trophy) – Kate Chandler
WFS Year 9 Boys MVP (Luke Woodcock Trophy) – Alex McAslan
Admark U13 Girls MVP (Justine Dunce Trophy) – Anvi Verma

Article added: Sunday 18 April 2021