Kerr, Conway win top honours at Cricket Wellington Norwood Awards 

 Devon Conway and Amelia Kerr were presented with the Firebirds and Blaze Cricketer of the Year awards at the Cricket Wellington Club and Norwood Awards held at the Queen’s Wharf Ballroom this evening.

Conway, who also won the Men’s Outstanding Batter award and the ANZ International T20 and ODI Player of the Year awards at the New Zealand Cricket Awards midweek, has enjoyed a breakthrough international summer for the BLACKCAPS while continuing his scintillating form for the Wellington Firebirds.

The 29-year-old made the step up to the international arena look easy with an unbeaten 99 in the first T20 against Australia at Hagley Oval, and topped off his first international home summer with his maiden BLACKCAPS century against Bangladesh at the Basin Reserve.

Conway was also instrumental in the Firebirds successful Dream11 Super Smash title defence. He was second top run scorer in the competition with 455 runs and capped off the domestic T20 campaign with an unbeaten 93 to lead the Firebirds to victory over the Canterbury Kings in the Grand Final at the Basin Reserve.

Kerr’s performances for the Blaze and the WHITE FERNS this summer have continued to show why she is one of the world’s leading players.

The leg-spinning all-rounder played a key role in the WHITE FERNS upset wins over Australia in Brisbane before Christmas and in Napier last month; while she averaged 51 with the bat at a strike-rate of 134 in the Super Smash and took 14 wickets, including a hat-trick, for the Blaze in the Grand Final. 

Petone-Riverside’s Mark James was awarded with the prestigious Mike Curtis Cup for outstanding contribution to club cricket.

James has been a vital part of the Petone Riverside Cricket Club for the past 10 years and has had transformative impact within the cricketing community in Petone since being named junior convenor in 2012.


His tireless and valuable coaching and administration efforts have seen playing numbers in the Petone area increase significantly – from eight teams in 2011, to 15 teams in 2021.


James has also had a huge impact in the female space where playing numbers have increased from zero players in 2011 to 39 players in 2021 under his guidance. This number continues to grow steadily year on year and Petone Riverside is the first Wellington club to offer a full female pathway.


Hutt District’s Olivia Boivin and Eastern Suburbs’ Luke Georgeson were awarded the Trish McKelvey Cup and Bruce Murray Medals.

The awards recognise fair play in women’s and men’s club cricket – the Trish McKelvey Cup is nominated by premier women’s coaches, while the Bruce Murray Medal is nominated by umpires and opposition captains from captain’s reports.

The unsung heroes of umpiring and scoring were also celebrated as Cory Black was named as Umpire of the Year, while Taita District’s Ann Batson was named Scorer of the Year.

The night also celebrated the many volunteers whose tireless efforts and dedication to cricket ensure the game continues to thrive at all levels.

Cricket Wellington named its ‘Volunteer XI - an initiative led by the organisation’s community team to recognise the most dedicated cricket volunteers in the Capital.



2020/21 Cricket Wellington Club & Norwood Award Winners

Admark Blaze Cricketer of the Year – Amelia Kerr
Kapura Firebirds Cricketer of the Year – Devon Conway

Admark Women’s Outstanding Bowler – Maneka Singh

Kapura Men’s Outstanding Bowler – Peter Younghusband
Admark Women’s Outstanding Batter – Sophie Devine
Kapura Men’s Outstanding Batter – Devon Conway
Ford Trophy Player’s Player of the Year – Michael Bracewell
Dream11 Super Smash Player’s Player of the Year – Finn Allen
Plunket Shield Player’s Player of the Year – Michael Bracewell
Overall Players Player of the Year – Michael Bracewell
Admark Women’s Most Promising Player – Georgia Plimmer
Kapura Men’s Most Promising Player – Troy Johnson
Admark Women’s Fielder of the Year – Jess McFadyen
Kapura Men’s Fielder of the Year – Michael Bracewell
Admark Women’s Allrounder of the Year – Amelia Kerr
Kapura Men’s Allrounder of the Year – Michael Bracewell
Eddie Cameron U20 Young Cricketer of the Year – Devan Vishvaka
Sir Walter Nash U23 Young Cricketer of the Year – Rachin Ravindra
Whiting Financial Services Provincial A Men’s Player of the Year – Nick Greenwood
Admark U19 Women’s Cricketer of the Year – Tash Codyre
Whiting Financial Services U19 Men’s Cricketer of the Year – Tim Robinson


Ground of the Year - Hutt Recreation Ground
Best and Fairest Club Captain - Sean O'Connor (Onslow Premiers)
Best and Fairest Club Team - Onslow Premiers
Royal Visit Cup (Wellington Aggregate) – Eastern Suburbs Cricket Club
Norwood Cup (Wellington Average) – Taita District Cricket Club

Judith Sadler Cup (most runs in premier women) – Florence Marshall (Wellington Collegians)
Arthur Dick Cup (most runs in premier men) – Devan Vishvaka (Johnsonville)
Majorie Sweetman Cup (most wickets in premier women) – Abby Carr (Wellington Collegians)
Ron Murray Cup (most wickets in premier men) – Zac Ringrose (Johnsonville)
May Cup (highest premier score) – Rakitha Weerasundara (Johnsonville)
J Atkin Cup (best bowling in premier club cricket) – Adam Leonard (Eastern Suburbs)
Sam Platt Cup (best overall performance) – Ben Strang (VUWCC)
Stanley Cowman Cup (best lower grade performance) – Stephen Hewson (Hutt District)
Men’s Senior Club Cricketer of the Year – Zac Ringrose (Johnsonville)
Women’s Senior Club Cricketer of the Year – Hannah Francis (Petone-Riverside)
Bruce Murray Medal (for fair play in men’s club cricket) – Luke Georgeson (Eastern Suburbs)
Trish McKelvey Cup (for fair play in women’s club cricket)  – Olivia Boivin (Hutt District)
Scorer of the Year – Ann Batson (Taita District)
Umpire of the Year – Cory Black
Mike Curtis Cup (for outstanding contribution to club cricket) – Mark James (Petone-Riverside)


Cricket Wellington Volunteer XI
Barrett Mexted (VUWCC) (C)
Ann Batson (Taita District)
Paul Bracewell (Eastern Suburbs)
Angus Devine (Hutt Valley High School)
Shaun Gillespie (Taita District)
Terry Hills (Eastern Suburbs)
Mark James (Petone-Riverside)
Mandi Lanceley (Stokes Valley)
James Lawler (Wellington Collegians)
Michelle Maisuria (North City)
Marty Vekony (Naenae Old Boys)
Grant Wall (Hutt International Boys’ School)

Article added: Friday 16 April 2021