Leading run scorers and wicket takers celebrated

Wellington premier club cricket’s leading run scorers and wicket takers were celebrated today on day three of Cricket Wellington’s Celebration of Cricket.

Johnsonville’s Devan Vishvaka was named as the recipient of the Arthur Dick Cup for most runs in men’s division one premier club cricket.

The 20-year-old right-hander scored 759 runs across the season at an impressive average of 42, helping his side lift the Pearce Cup for the first time in their history.

Vishvaka was the fourth leading run scorer in the Ewen Chatfield Trophy one-day competition with 263 runs from eight matches at an average of just under 33.

The Wellington College old-boy showed his class in the Pearce Cup two-day competition – he finished as the second highest run scorer with 496 runs from ten innings at an average of just under 50. His high-score of 135 was a vital one, helping his side lift the trophy in the Grand Final against Taita District.

Special mention must also go out to North City's Russell Hughes who amassed 1,018 runs across the season, topping the Hazlett Trophy one-day and two-day run scoring charts and averaged over 60 in both competitions.

Wellington Collegian’s Florence Marshall received the Judith Sadler Cup for most runs in women’s premier club cricket.

Marshall played a vital role as her side qualified for the Maureen Peters T20 final and won the Joy Lamason Trophy one-day competition, scoring 521 runs at an average of 43.

The right-hander topped the Joy Lamason Trophy run scoring charts with 331 runs from seven matches at an impressive average of 66. In the T20 competition she was the fifth leading run scorer with 190 runs from eight matches.

Abby Carr was named as the recipient of the Majorie Sweetman Cup for most wickets in women’s premier club cricket.

The Wellington Collegians off-spinner took 20 wickets across the summer with an average of 13.

Carr topped the wicket-taking charts in the Maureen Peters T20 competition with 15 wickets from nine matches, including best figures of 3-16.

Johnsonville’s Zac Ringrose was awarded the Ron Murray Cup for most wickets in men’s premier club cricket.

Ringrose continued to show why he is one of the best bowlers in Wellington men’s club cricket taking 53 wickets across the summer at an average of 15.

He was the second leading wicket-taker in the Ewen Chatfield Trophy one-day competition with 22 wickets, picking up best figures of 5-29 along the way.

He was also second leading wicket-taker in the Pearce Cup two-day competition with 31 wickets and claimed best figures of 6-40 in round five against Karori.

The Blaze and Firebirds’ outstanding allrounders and fielders were also celebrated.

Blaze wicketkeeper Jess McFadyen was rewarded for her excellent form behind the stumps with the women’s Fielder of the Year award and Michael Bracewell was named as the men’s Fielder of the Year and the men’s Best Allrounder.

Amelia Kerr added more awards to her growing list after winning the women’s Dream11 Super Smash Player of the Year and ANZ International T20 Player of the Year awards at last night’s ANZ New Zealand Cricket Awards.

The talented allrounder was named as women’s Best Allrounder after another strong summer in yellow and black.

Cricket Wellington’s Celebration of Cricket will continue this week as all award winners are announced daily on the Cricket Wellington social media channels, before the major awards are announced at the Celebration of Cricket event on Friday evening.


Celebration of Cricket | 2020/21 Award Winners

Ground of the Year - Hutt Recreation Ground
Best and Fairest Club Captain - Sean O'Connor (Onslow Premiers)
Best and Fairest Club Team - Onslow Premiers
Royal Visit Cup (Wellington Aggregate) – Eastern Suburbs Cricket Club
Norwood Cup (Wellington Average) – Taita District Cricket Club

Judith Sadler Cup (most runs in premier women) – Florence Marshall (Wellington Collegians)
Arthur Dick Cup (most runs in premier men) – Devan Vishvaka (Johnsonville)
Majorie Sweetman Cup (most wickets in premier women) – Abby Carr (Wellington Collegians)
Ron Murray Cup (most wickets in premier men) – Zac Ringrose (Johnsonville)


U19 Female Player of the Year - Tash Codyre
U19 Male Player of the Year - Tim Robinson

U20 Young Cricketer of the Year - Devan Vishvaka
U23 Young Cricketer of the Year - Rachin Ravindra
Provincial A Men's Player of the Year - Nick Greenwood
Most Promising Female Player – Georgia Plimmer
Most Promising Male Player – Troy Johnson

Women’s Fielder of the Year – Jess McFadyen
Men’s Fielder of the Year – Michael Bracewell
Women’s Best Allrounder – Amelia Kerr

Men’s Best Allrounder – Michael Bracewell

Article added: Wednesday 14 April 2021