Conway and Kerr shine at NZC Awards

Firebirds batsman Devon Conway and Blaze allrounder Amelia Kerr have both claimed major honours at the ANZ New Zealand Cricket awards held live and digitally on Tuesday evening.

Kerr’s all-round skills and fielding prowess saw her win the Dream11 Super Smash and the ANZ International T20 women’s awards.

The leg-spinning all-rounder played a key role in the WHITE FERNS upset wins over Australia in Brisbane before Christmas and in Napier last month; while she averaged 51 with the bat at a strike-rate of 134 in the Super Smash and took 14 wickets, including a hat-trick, for the Wellington Blaze in the Grand Final. 

Fellow rising Wellington star Devon Conway made every post a winner in his first international season and was rewarded with the ANZ men’s ODI and T20 International Player of the Year awards.

The elegant-left hander smashed 473 T20I runs at an average of 59, strike rate 151, with four half-centuries and a top-score of 99* - to edge out fellow batsman Glenn Phillips (366 runs at 40.6) and bowlers Tim Southee (21 wickets at 16.7) and Ish Sodhi (20 wickets at 15.4).

Conway’s ODI form was just as dominant as he plundered 225 runs at 75 in the three-game series against Bangladesh, including his maiden international century at the Basin Reserve in March.

Firebirds sensation and newest BLACKCAP Finn Allen was crowned the men’s Dream11 Super Smash Player of the Year following his break-out season. The 21-year-old opener amassed a league-leading 512 runs at an average of 56 and an incredible strike-rate of 193 - featuring a table-topping 56 fours and 25 sixes.

The night also honoured those responsible for growing the game, with the NZC Community Cricket awards announced.

Cricket Wellington Umpires and Scorers' Jeremy Busby's dedication to umpiring was recognised as he was awarded the Outstanding Contribution to Cricket Award.


2020-21 ANZ New Zealand Cricket Award Winners
Sir Richard Hadlee Medal: Kane Williamson (Northern Districts)
Bert Sutcliffe Medal for Outstanding Services to Cricket: Jeff Crowe
ANZ International Test Player of the Year: Kane Williamson (Northern Districts)
ANZ International Women’s ODI Player of the Year: Amy Satterthwaite (Canterbury)
ANZ International Men’s ODI Player of the Year: Devon Conway (Wellington)
ANZ International Women’s T20 Player of the Year: Amelia Kerr (Wellington)
ANZ International Men’s T20 Player of the Year: Devon Conway (Wellington)

Women’s Domestic Player of the Year: Frankie Mackay (Canterbury)
Men’s Domestic Player of the Year: Daryl Mitchell (Canterbury)
Women’s Dream11 Super Smash Player of the Year: Amelia Kerr (Wellington)
Men’s Dream11 Super Smash Player of the Year: Finn Allen (Wellington)   

The Redpath Cup for first-class batting: Kane Williamson (Northern Districts)
The Ruth Martin Cup for women’s domestic batting: Kate Ebrahim (Canterbury)
The Winsor Cup for first-class bowling: Kyle Jamieson (Auckland)
The Phyl Blackler Cup for women’s domestic bowling: Sarah Asmussen (Canterbury)

G.J. Gardner Homes New Zealand Umpire of the Year: Chris Brown


2020-21 NZC Community Awards 
Gillette Venus Cup Player of the Year: Nensi Patel (Tauranga Girls College)
Gillette Cup Player of the Year: Angus Sidey (Christchurch Boys High School)
Club of the Year: Suburbs New Lynn  
Volunteer of the Year: Fiona Hewetson (Taradale District Cricket Club)
Official of the Year: Roger Woolmer (Auckland Cricket)
Cricket Development Officer of the Year: Ramesh Subasinghe (Waikato Valley Cricket Association)
Best Female Engagement Initiative: Womens TONK (North Shore Cricket Club) 
Outstanding Contribution and Services to Coaching: Karl Treiber (Kamo Cricket Club)
Outstanding Contribution to Cricket: Jeremy Busby (Cricket Wellington Umpires & Scorers Association) 
Sir Jack Newman: Mark Simkin (Motueka Cricket Club)

Article added: Wednesday 14 April 2021