Greenwood named Provincial A Player of the Year

Taita District batsman Nick Greenwood has been named Men’s Provincial A Player of the Year on day one of Cricket Wellington’s Celebration of Cricket.

The young right-hander has had a breakthrough summer for the Wellington A side, scoring a century against Canterbury A in February and earning selection in Wellington Firebirds Ford Trophy squads and the squad for their Dream11 Super Smash match against Auckland at Eden Park Outer Oval at the end of January.

Firebirds allrounder Rachin Ravindra was named Under-23 Young Cricketer of the Year for the third year running.

The 21-year-old has had a summer to remember, despite picking up a shoulder injury in January. He registered his maiden New Zealand A century and claimed best first-class bowling figures of 6-89 against the West Indies in December, and played a pivotal role in the early stages of the Firebirds successful Dream11 Super Smash title defence.

Injury ruled him out of the back end of the Super Smash and Ford Trophy campaigns, but he returned to the Firebirds with a bang – claiming his third first-class century with 138 against Northern Districts at the Basin Reserve.

His memorable summer was topped off last week, the promising allrounder receiving his maiden BLACKCAPS call-up for the tour of England in June.

Johnsonville’s Devan Vishvaka was named the Under-20 Young Cricketer of the Year. The 20-year-old has impressed in his first summer of cricket out of high school. He scored 176 against Central Districts A in March and helped Johnsonville lift the Pearce Cup for the first time in their history with 131 in the first innings of the Grand Final.

Young Blaze allrounder Tash Codyre was awarded the Under-19 Female Player of the Year. Codyre has had a breakthrough year as part of the Wellington Blaze squad and was selected alongside fellow Blaze player Georgia Plimmer in the first ever New Zealand Under-19 women’s team to face a New Zealand Police Women’s XI and a New Zealand Provincial Women’s XI.

Tim Robinson was named Under-19 Male Player of the Year. The Onslow allrounder was the standout player at the National Under 19 tournament in Lincoln, topping the run-scoring charts with 325 runs. 

Onslow Premier club captain Sean O’Connor was named as the Best and Fairest Club Captain and his Onslow Premier side were named as the Best and Fairest Club team, while Hutt Recreation Ground was named as the Ground of the Year.

All three awards were determined by points awarded from captains reports at the end of each club match.

Cricket Wellington’s Celebration of Cricket will continue this week as all award winners are announced daily on the Cricket Wellington social media channels, before the major awards are announced at the Celebration of Cricket event on Friday evening.


Celebration of Cricket | 2020/21 Award Winners

Ground of the Year - Hutt Recreation Ground
Best and Fairest Club Captain - Sean O'Connor (Onslow Premiers)

Best and Fairest Club Team - Onslow Premiers

U19 Female Player of the Year - Tash Codyre
U19 Male Player of the Year - Tim Robinson
U20 Young Cricketer of the Year - Devan Vishvaka
U23 Young Cricketer of the Year - Rachin Ravindra
Provincial A Men's Player of the Year - Nick Greenwood

Article added: Monday 12 April 2021