Wellington Over-60s begin their 2021 campaign

The Wellington Over 60s cricketers begin their 2021 Championship campaign with a match this weekend against their nearest neighbour, Central Districts in Marton.

This 40-Over match will count toward points for what will be the sixth Over-60 National Championship to be held in Christchurch in February.

The side captained by former Wellington first-class player Brian Cederwall contains other players who have first-class and/or Hawke Cup experience, including Ross Ormiston, Tony Hill, Carl Adams and Dave Harle.

The Championships, where all six Major Associations are represented, are part of the Veterans Cricket New Zealand (VCNZ) programme of matches.

For the first time these Championships will contain a second division which has been introduced to cater for the growth in playing numbers that has occurred in recent years.

Game results and updates will be available via the Wellington Over-60 Facebook page:



Wellington Division 1 squad:
Brian Cederwall
Carl Adams
Paul Donnellan
Kevin Goldsbury
Neil Gray
David Harle
Tony Hill
Ken James
John Kyne
Ross Ormiston
Kim Price Moor
David Vance
Andrew Watson


Wellington Division 2 squad:
Grant Baker (co-captain)
Jeremy Morley (co-captain)
David Blue
Bob Cubin
Paul Gini
Mark Hammond
Denis Lander
Roydon McLeod
Dave O’Leary
Khandu Patel
Murray Riley
Vish Viswanathan


Following the Championship tournament in Christchurch, sides will be named to represent VCNZ in the Australian State Championships, (COVID permitting), scheduled for the commencement of the 2021/22 season.

Any enquiries regarding becoming involved in Over-60 and Over-70 cricket can be addressed via email to d.harle56@gmail.com  

Article added: Wednesday 20 January 2021