Opportunity abounds for NZC umpires

Wellington umpire Cory Black

NZC’s Match Officials list has a familiar feel for the upcoming season with the International, National and Reserve Umpire Panels remaining unchanged for 2020-21.


However, with the ICC outlining there won’t be a requirement for non-neutral umpires in home Tests due to Covid-19, our International Panel umpires could well be used for BLACKCAPS Tests. 

This would open the door for greater opportunities for those on the Reserve Panel to step up to First-Class level.

“It’s great to be able to announce a settled umpiring group for the season ahead,” said NZC Head of Cricket Operations Charlie Brewer.  

“Our top umpires have been doing a superb job for several years now and it’s an exciting prospect for the International Panel to stand in home Tests.

“We have full faith that the Reserve Panel can step up, if required, to fill the gap at First-Class level and know this will provide that group with valuable match experience.”

Kim Cotton continues to pave the way for female umpires in the country, retaining her spot on the Reserve Panel for the season ahead.

“Kim is going from strength to strength with her umpiring and it was fantastic to see her stand in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Final earlier this year,” Brewer said.

“She retains her spot on the Reserve Panel and will continue her development as our top female umpire in the country.”  

Former international umpire and NZC Umpire Coach, Tony Hill, is a new addition to the NZC Match Referee group, with the rest of the list returning for another season. 

Auckland Regional Scorer Manager Annette Campbell will embark on her 26th consecutive season scoring premier cricket in New Zealand, fresh from winning the NZC Official of the Year Award at the recent ANZ New Zealand Cricket Awards 2019-20.


*National Panel umpires primarily officiate in the Plunket Shield, Ford Trophy and Super Smash competitions while the Reserve Panel primarily officiate in the Hallyburton Johnstone Shield, NZC National Tournaments and Hawke Cup Challenge matches.


NZC Match Official appointments for 2020-21


International Umpire Panel

Chris Brown – Auckland

Shaun Haig – Otago

Wayne Knights – Auckland


NZC G.J. Gardner Homes National Panel

Billy Bowden – Auckland

John Bromley – Canterbury

John Dempsey – Northern Districts

Ash Mehrotra – Northern Districts

Tim Parlane – Canterbury

Derek Walker – Otago


Chris Brown, Shaun Haig and Wayne Knights will also serve on the National Panel when available.


NZC G.J. Gardner Homes National Reserve Panel

Cory Black – Wellington

Kim Cotton – Canterbury

Tyron Davies – Wellington

Lui Els – Northern Districts

Kannan Jagannathan – Otago

Damian Morrow – Northern Districts

Pete Pasco – Otago

Eugene Sanders – Canterbury

Tim Shirriffs – Central Districts

Allen Stanley – Auckland

Garth Stirrat – Wellington

Glen Walklin – Central Districts


NZC Match Referees

Gary Baxter

Ross Dykes

Richard Hayward

Kevin Pulley

Tony Hill


NZC Regional Scorer Managers

Annette Campbell – Auckland & Acting Northern Districts

Duncan Mitchell – Central Districts

Ian Smith – Wellington

Tony Feely – Canterbury

Malcolm Jones – Dunedin


ICC Elite Panel

Chris Gaffaney – Otago

Article added: Friday 31 July 2020