Wellington Over 60s begin National Championship campaign

28 players have been named to represent Wellington at the Seventh National Over 60 Cricket Championships to be held in Napier and Hastings from February 6-10.

For the first time there will be two Divisions at the Championships involving all six Major Associations which reflects the growth in playing numbers as well as the increase in playing talent.

Dave Harle, the Wellington Trustee on the Board of Veterans Cricket New Zealand (VCNZ) said the growth in playing numbers in the past 12 months is reflected around the country with the other five Major Associations reporting an increasing interest in Veterans cricket.

VCNZ caters for cricketers wishing to continue their playing careers in Over 50, Over 60 and Over 70 teams.

 The Over 60 Championships will actually commence this weekend with Nearest Neighbour matches. Wellington will play Central Districts at Centennial Park in Marton, with the Division 2 side playing on Saturday and the Division 1 side on Sunday in 40 over matches starting at 11.15am.

The teams are appreciative of the support provided by Cricket Wellington and the financial assistance received from Cederwall Medical and Redican-Allwood Construction.

The two squads to represent Wellington are: 

Division 1 

Brian Cederwall ( c ), Carl Adams, Paul Donnellan, Kevin Goldsbury, Dave Harle, Tony Hill, Bryan Lilley,  Eno Luia’ana, Ross Ormiston, Kim Price Moor, David Vance, Andrew Watson, Evan Watkin and Brent Wenlock.

Division 2 

Jeremy Morley ( c ), Grant Baker, David Blue, Bob Cubin, Paul Gini, Neil Gray, Mark Hammond, Peter Kerr, John Kyne, Denis Lander, Dave O’Leary, Khandu Patel,  Murray Riley and Steve Whitfield.

Games will be scored live on CricHQ and results and updates will be available via the Wellington Over 60 Facebook page

Any enquiries regarding becoming involved in Over 60 and Over 70 cricket can be addressed by email to d.harle56@gmail.com   

Article added: Friday 21 January 2022