Wellington wins big at ANZ New Zealand Cricket Awards

Wellington was well among the winners at the New Zealand Cricket Awards held at the Sky City Convention Centre in Auckland last night.

The capital association came away with eight awards across various categories, including three of the New Zealand Cricket community awards, capping off what has been a highly successful summer.

Wellington Blaze and WHITE FERNS star Amelia Kerr was the evening’s big winner. The 18-year-old claimed the ANZ Women’s ODI Player of the Year and took home the Phyl Blackler Cup for women’s domestic bowling, along with the Gillette Venus Cup as the Secondary Schools Female Player of the Year.

Kerr amassed 415 ODI runs over the judging period at an average of 59, including a world record 232 not out against Ireland, a match which also saw her claim 5-17 in an overall tally of 19 wickets for the season.

Sophie Devine was also recognised for her outstanding summer – claiming the ANZ International T20 Women’s Player of the Year.

Devine has been a standout performer on the international stage yet again this season, playing a major part in both formats and helping the WHITE FERNS to a memorable 3-0 home T20 series win over India.

Wellington Firebirds left-hander Devon Conway had a break-out season in the capital and was a clear winner of the Men’s Domestic Player of the Year title.

The 27-year-old was the stand-out batsman in the Plunket Shield scoring 659 runs at an average of 82. He also led all run-scorers in the Men’s Burger King Super Smash and played a major role in his side’s victorious Ford Trophy campaign.

Wellington College’s Tim Campbell claimed the Gillette Cup Player of the Year. The talented top-order batsman was instrumental in Wellington College’s Gillette Cup campaign, leading them to their first title in 17 years.

Well-known Wellington scorer Cheryl Styles was awarded with the Official of the Year prize. Styles, who recently announced she will be putting down the scorer’s book, has scored 35 tests and ends her scoring career on 101 first-class matches.

Wellington stalwart Ewen Chatfield was awarded the prestigious Bert Sutcliffe Medal for Outstanding Services to Cricket to cap off his 51st consecutive and final season of club cricket and honour his contribution to the game.

The evening also saw cricket farewell five internationals with Liz Perry, Michael Papps, Brent Arnel, Luke Woodcock and Lucy Doolan all honoured on stage.

The Wellington awards will continue when the best of the Firebirds and Blaze are recognised at tonight’s Cricket Wellington Norwood Awards at the Basin Reserve.



Sir Richard Hadlee Medal for Player of the Year: Kane Williamson

ANZ International Test Player of the Year: Kane Williamson

ANZ International Women’s ODI Player of the Year: Amelia Kerr

ANZ International Men’s ODI Player of the Year: Ross Taylor

ANZ International Women’s T20 Player of the Year: Sophie Devine

ANZ International Men’s T20 Player of the Year: Colin Munro

Women’s Domestic Player of the Year: Natalie Dodd

Men’s Domestic Player of the Year: Devon Conway

Burger King Super Smash Women’s Player of the Year: Frankie Mackay

Burger King Super Smash Men’s Player of the Year: Tom Bruce

The Redpath Cup for First-Class batting: Kane Williamson

The Winsor Cup for First-Class bowling: Trent Boult

The Phyl Blackler Cup for women’s domestic bowling: Amelia Kerr

The Ruth Martin Cup for women’s domestic batting: Natalie Dodd

New Zealand Umpire of the Year: Chris Brown

Gillette Venus Cup Player of the Year: Amelia Kerr (Tawa College)

Gillette Cup Player of the Year: Tim Campbell (Wellington College)

Official of the Year: Cheryl Styles

Bert Sutcliffe Medal for Outstanding Services to Cricket: Ewen Chatfield