Wellington finish fourth in Over 60’s Championship

Wellington have claimed fourth spot in the fourth edition of the National Provincial Over 60’s competition held at the Petone Recreation ground in Lower Hutt over the weekend.

Wellington won two out of their four matches, beating Central Districts and losing to Northern Districts and Otago before overcoming Auckland on the final day.  

Canterbury claimed back-to-back titles, beating Northern Districts by 2-runs in the final yesterday.

Phil Harris (41 ret), Michael Mehaffey (41 ret) and Hugh Wright (40 ret)
led Canterbury to a strong first innings total of 220/6 after they won the toss
and elected to bat first.

Cliff King (42 ret), Gary Rudolph (40 ret) and Gary Webb (40 ret) all contributed
to a strong Northern Districts response which had them requiring a boundary off
the final ball to take the win.

But it wasn’t to be for the challengers as they could only manage two off the final ball to hand Canterbury the win and their second title in a row.

The top run scorers for the tournament (noting that batsmen must retire
when they get to 40 runs) were Phil Harris (Canterbury) 169 runs and Cliff King
(Northern Districts) with 164 runs both of whom retired in all four games. Craig
Gray from Northern Districts was the pick of the bowlers with 9 wickets.

Next year’s championship will again be held in early February 2020 at Hagley
Park in Christchurch.

Following the tournament, all teams attended the final dinner where the
New Zealand squad to compete in the Australian Over 60’s tournament in Adelaide
in November was announced.

The squad is as

Gus Klein, Murray Brown, Rod Smith Auckland;

Gary Rudolph, Cliff King, Craig Gray, Garry Webb, Rob Craig Northern

Bruce Hooper-Smith, Gordon Kuggeleijn, Peter Nixon, Central Districts;

Kevin Goldsbury, Dave Harle Wellington;

Andrew Nuttall, Danny Langrope, Phil Harris, Hamish Wright, Hugh Wright,
Robbie Deans, Bob Masefield, Tony Gray, Graeme Inglis, Canterbury;

John Cushen, Bevan Guthrie, Paul Facoory, Lindsay Hewitson Otago.

The squad will also compete against the visiting Australia Over 60’s
side in a three-match test series starting in Queenstown on February 24.


Day One:  ND 201/6 v Wgtn
187/5;  Cant 228/4 v 173/10; Auck 99/8 v
Otago 100/3

Day Two:  Cant 280/5 v Otago 165;
CD 184/5 v Wgtn 186/1; ND 241/2 v Auck 139/9

Day Three: Cant 231/5 v ND 179/8; Otago 174/9 v Wgtn 106/9; CD 212/4 v
Auk 177/8

Day Four: Final: Cant 220/6 v ND 218/6; Wgtn 173/8 v Auck 159/9; Otago
212/6 v CD 124/8