Perry and van Beek Claim Player of the Year Honours

Logan van Beek and Liz Perry with their spoils from the Norwood Awards for the 2017-18 season. Raghavan Venugopal

At last week’s annual Norwood Awards, Cricket Wellington acknowledged the performances of their senior players during the 2017-18 season.

Having led the Wellington Blaze to the national T20 title, Liz Perry received the Norwood Award as the Women’s Cricketer of Year. In a big night for the former-WHITE FERN, Perry also received the award as the best female batswoman this summer. In the revived Hallyburton Johnstone Shield One-Day competition, Perry led all players with a batting average of 72.50. In the T20 competition, her average of 38.00 was the fourth best across all teams.

Speaking on the performances of her Blaze team over the season, Perry was quick to point to a positive team culture as playing a large role in their success,

“We worked really hard on our team culture this year and took it upon ourselves to build a hard-working but enjoyable environment on and off the field.

“In my eyes, that was the cause of a lot of our success this season.”

Building culture has been a common theme among Wellington representative sides in recent years, with Wellington Firebirds’ coaches Bruce Edgar and Glenn Pocknall placing a big emphasis on it within their side. The positive outcomes from this can be seen in the young Wellington players who have developed and been introduced to top level provincial cricket this season. It has also seen players move to Wellington where they have flourished. The latest example of that is Logan van Beek, who was named the Norwood Award winner as the Men’s Cricketer of the Year.

A strong performer in all formats, van Beek particularly excelled in the Plunket Shield where he led the Firebird’s with 40 wickets – just ahead of Hamish Bennett (38), Jeetan Patel (36), and Iain McPeake (35) – making him the competition’s leading fast bowler. He also claimed the first 10-wicket bag of his career and a particularly special hat-trick against his former team, Canterbury. With his previous best season haul seeing him claim 18 wickets, 2017-18 was definitely a breakout season for the affable Netherlands’ international.

The ongoing development of young local players was evident among the other award winners, with two of the Firebirds’ season debutants (Lachie Johns and Alex Ridley) claiming representative awards and two of the Wellington players (Rachin Ravindra and Luke Georgeson) that featured in the BLACKCAPS’ Under 19 World Cup squad also acknowledged with age group trophies. Jess Kerr’s superb season with the Wellington Blaze saw her receive the award for the Most Promising Player of the Year while perennial award winner, and Jess’ sister, Amelia Kerr added the U21 Tournament Player of the Year trophy to the family’s bulging cabinet.

In an initiative introduced to the Firebirds by their coaches, the team also named their Players’ Players of the Year. Voted on by the players throughout the season, the awards see a winner named for each competition and overall. With Samit Patel and Devon Conway claiming the awards for the Burger King Super Smash and Ford Trophy respectively, the players’ choice for the Plunket Shield and overall echoed the choice of those who chose the Norwood Award winner as Logan van Beek completed a memorable first season for the birds on fire.


View photos from the night on the Cricket Wellington Facebook page.


Norwood Award – Cricketer of the Year L V van Beek
E C Perry
Batter of the Year M H W Papps
E C Perry
Bowler of the Year L V van Beek
D M Doughty
All Rounder of the Year L V van Beek
L R Doolan
Fielder of the Year M G Bracewell
S L McDonald
Most Promising Player M J Nofal
J M Kerr
Provincial A MVP L R Johns
Robert Vance Under 19 MVP L I Georgeson
Eddie Cameron U20 MVP R Ravindra
Sir Walter Nash U23 MVP A D Ridley
Women’s U21 Tournament Player of the Year A C Kerr
Burger King Super Smash Players’ Player of the Year* S R Patel
Ford Trophy Players’ Player of the Year* D P Conway
Plunket Shield Players’ Player of the Year* L V van Beek
Overall Players’ Player of the Year* L V van Beek
*voted on by players