Easts look to continue Golden Summer

Easts will be out to continue their golden summer when they meet Hutt District in the Wilkinson Pearce Cup final starting Friday. Having already collected the One-day and the T/20 title the Pearce Cup will make it a treble something only Karori have previously achieved.

Hutt will be out to avenge their T/20 final defeat to Easts where they were strangled chasing 120 to win. After a brilliant display in the field most thought at the innings break Hutt had their first title in 5 seasons wrapped up. Someone forgot to tell Easts though who restricted Hutt to only 109 and take their second trophy of the season.

The two sides meet a week later in the round robin with Easts having a vice grip on the game the whole way through. A brilliant 144 from Easts batsman Lauchie Johns allowed Easts to set a total of 405/6 declared. Hutt never recovered after losing 4 wickets for just 22 before the end of days play eventually bowled out for 196. Easts then strangely then chose not to enforce the follow on a allow their batsman some no pressure batting practice, Josh Brodie scoring 116 before time was called on the game with Hutt 30 with out loss.

The way the teams approach the 3 day final will be intriguing and a fresh Basin Reserve pitch will more than likely offer a bit of early assistance for the bowlers but will flatten out no doubt. Easts come into the final with a fairly comfortable win over Collegians while Hutt had to scrap to save first innings points against Karori to make sure of their finals berth.

Easts have hardly looked troubled throughout their Pearce Cup final but finals are a strange thing and while they will start hot favourites Hutt District have the players that are more than capable of denying Easts Wellington Crickets top prize.

The match starts Friday 4th April 11am at the Basin Reserve. Start times for Saturday and Sunday are 11am and 10am respectively.


Easts (from): Lance Dry (c) Josh Brodie, Peter Connell, Jeremy Dean, Andrew Fullerton-Smith, Jamie Gibson, Scott Golder, Lauchie Johns, Ricky Joseph, Ronald Karaitiana, Sam McLauchlan, Ben Orton, Sam Outtrim, Jake Packer, Ili Tugaga

Hutt District: Kieran Lennon (c), Mark Bassett, Sam Fraser, Fraser Colson, BJ Barnett, Brett Johnson, Darren Cudby, Adam Williams, Kyle Hitchman, Iain McPeake, Will Brunton.