11 Wellington reps selected in national Indoor Cricket squads

Eleven Wellington Indoor Cricket representatives have been selected in four New Zealand squads for the Trans-Tasman international series against Australia in September.

The national men’s, women’s, under-22 boys’ and under-22 girls’ squads were all selected following the 2019 ICNZ Provincial Championships held in Palmerston North over the weekend.

Wellingtonians Bryce Fellows, Kieran Butler and Ben Saunders were selected in the senior men’s squad, while Gemma Krebs and Melanie Driescher were selected for the senior women’s team.

Four Wellington representatives were selected in the under-22 boys’ squad – Ryan Jackson, Regan Craig, Matthew Scoble and Micah Conroy who will captain the side.

Kate Fenton and Hannah Kells were also rewarded with selection in the under-22 girls’ squad after their strong performances at the national competition.

The Open Men’s team last faced off against Australia in a bilateral series at Port Macquarie, New South Wales in 2016. They finished runners-up to the Australians at the 2017 World Cup in the UAE. This series will mark the first time the teams have met since then.

Seven members from the team that won the New Zealand-Asia Cup in Singapore this past April have been retained. This includes skipper Victor Davies, Michael Dodunski, Corey Perrett, Bryce Fellows, Mitchell Gardner, Braden Gardner and Ben Saunders.

There were recalls for Stacy Hyndman, who last played at the 2014 World Cup in New Zealand, and Kieran Butler, who last featured at the 2017 World Cup in the UAE.

Carl Hooper and Dion Joll will both make their Open Men’s debuts in this series, having previously played at Under-22 level.

All four teams will assemble in camp on 8 September for the series which takes place from 12-14 September at the Palmerston North Indoor Sports Arena in Palmerston North.

Story credit – Ahmad Khawaja – Indoor Cricket New Zealand