Johnson, Trethewey named Wellington Senior Club Cricketers of the Year

Hutt District Cricket Club’s Brett Johnson and Bethany Trethewey have been named the 2019-20 Men’s and Women’s Wellington Senior Club Cricketer’s of the Year.

Trethewey enjoyed a successful summer of cricket racking up 367 runs and taking 17 wickets across the season as Hutt District won both the Maureen Peters T20 and Joy Lamason One-Day competitions.

Johnson also had a memorable season with the ball taking 33 wickets across the three competitions and helping his side lift the Pearce Cup. He also made his List A debut for the Wellington Firebirds against Canterbury.

Johnson also picked up the Ron Murray Cup for most wickets in the Premier Division One competitions and the J Atkin Cup for best premier bowling performance for his 7-23 against Onslow in the Pearce Cup.

Upper Hutt’s Hannah Burrell and Rachel Bryant shared the Marjorie Sweetman Memorial Trophy for most wickets in the Premier Women’s competitions. The pair both reached 18 wickets.

Petone-Eastbourne’s Hannah Francis claimed the Judith Sadler Memorial Trophy for most runs in the Premier Women’s competitions with 394 runs, while Taita’s Chander Ravi was awarded the Arthur Dick Cup for most runs in the Premier Men’s Division One competitions with 860 runs.

Special mention must also be made to Upper Hutt United’s Callum McLachlan and Petone-Eastbourne’s Craig James.

James was a wicket machine for Petone-Eastbourne in the Hazlett Trophy taking 42 wickets across the Division 2 competitions, while McLachlan scored runs for fun finishing as the highest run scorer in the Premier Men Division 2 competitions with 947 runs - the highlight was undoubtedly his magnificent 224 against North City in the Hazlett Trophy Two-Day competition for which he was also awarded the May Cup for highest premier score.

Liam Patterson-White edged out several strong nominations to claim the Sam Platt Cup for best overall performance.

The Petone-Eastbourne allrounder’s performance against North City in the Hazlett Trophy Two-Day competition where he claimed 6-54 with the ball and hit 150 with the bat earned him the award.

Wainuiomata’s Callum Mackaness was recognized for his volunteer service contributions to community cricket with the Mike Curtis Cup.

At just 22, Mackaness has taken on Wainuiomata’s Club Captain role and made a huge contribution to his community through cricket both on and off the field and was instrumental in helping Wainuiomata College enter their first cricket team in over ten years.




Men’s Senior Club Cricketer of the Year – Brett Johnson (Hutt District)

Women’s Senior Club Cricketer of the Year – Bethany Trethewey (Hutt District)

Marjorie Sweetman Memorial Trophy (for most wickets in Women’s Premier competitions) Hannah Burrell/Rachel Bryant (Upper Hutt)

Judith Sadler Memorial Trophy (for most runs in Women’s Premier competitions) – Hannah Francis (Petone-Eastbourne)

Ron Murray Cup (for most wickets in Premier Men’s Division One competitions) – Brett Johnson (Hutt District) – special mention to Craig James (Petone-Eastbourne) for most wickets in Premier Men’s Division Two competitions

Arthur Dick Cup (for most runs in Premier Men’s Division One competitions) – Chander Ravi (Taita) - special mention to Callum McLachlan (Upper Hutt United) for most runs in Premier Men’s Division Two competitions

J Atkin Cup (for best bowling performance in Premier competitions – Brett Johnson 7-23 v Onslow in Pearce Cup (Hutt District)

May Cup (for highest Premier score) – Callum McLachlan 224 v North City in Hazlett Trophy Two-Day (Upper Hutt United)

Sam Platt Cup (for best overall performance) – Liam Patterson-White 150 and 6-54 v North City in Hazlett Trophy One-Day (Petone-Eastbourne)

Trish McKelvey Cup – Christine Blunden

Mike Curtis Cup (recognizing volunteer service to club cricket) – Callum Mackaness (Wainuiomata)

Royal Visit Cup (awarded to the club with highest aggregate points) – Eastern Suburbs

Norwood Cup – (awarded to the club with the highest average number of points per team) - VUWCC

Bruce Murray Medal (most points from captain’s reports) – Sam Mycock (VUWCC)

Ground of the Year – Fraser Park





Pearce Cup (Division 1) – Hutt District

Ewen Chatfield Trophy (Division 1) – Karori

Hazlett Trophy One-Day (Division 2) – Upper Hutt United

Hazlett Trophy Two-Day (Division 2) – Upper Hutt United

Premier T20 Cup – Eastern Suburbs

Alan Isaac (Division 3) – Vic Uni Reserves

Division 4 – Wainuiomata

Division 5 – Vic Uni Stallions

Division 6 – Petone Fateh

Division 7 – Vic Uni Wolves

Division 8 – Sri Lankan Sports Club B

Joy Lamason Women’s One-Day – Hutt District

Maureen Peters Women’s T20 – Hutt District

P2 Women’s – Stokes Valley Fine Legs

Premier Girls T20 – Eastonville

Premier Girls Pairs – Eastonville

Premier Girls 30 Over – Eastonville

Intercity Division 1 One-Day – Eastern Suburbs Desi Boys

Intercity Division 2 One-Day – Eastern Suburbs Leopards

Wellington Division 1 T20 – Onslow T20 Spring Chickens

Wellington Division 2 T20 – Sri Lanka Sports Club Warriors

Wellington Division 3 T20 – Karori Silly Nannies

Hutt Valley T20 – Upper Hutt Dreamboats

Article added: Thursday 23 April 2020