Kinsella awarded Bert Sutcliffe Medal

Penny Kinsella has been awarded the most prestigious non-playing award, the Bert Sutcliffe Medal, on the final day of the ANZ New Zealand Cricket awards.

A former New Zealand Test representative, Kinsella has since devoted herself to growing the game and particularly the women’s game, establishing herself as a pillar of cricket in the Wellington community.

The daughter of first-class cricketer and international umpire Dave, Kinsella is a teacher and was a driving force behind re-introducing cricket for girls at Onslow College in Wellington, where she is currently employed as Deputy Principal. 

She has fulfilled many voluntary roles in cricket since her retirement as a player, including managing teams, coaching provincial, New Zealand A and South Island teams and squads, and three stints as a WHITE FERNS selector.

As well as this, Kinsella was actively involved in the amalgamation of the New Zealand Women’s Cricket Council and the New Zealand (Men’s) Cricket Council in the early 1990s and, more recently, was part of the project team compiling the history of women’s cricket in New Zealand.

She still assists Cricket Wellington with selecting and coaching age group squads, and mentoring players, and is on the board of the Cricket Museum, based at the Basin Reserve.

“It was a lovely phone call to receive and I was just so humbled,” Kinsella said.

“The things I do – I do because I want to do it for people. I want to recognise and keep people from the past involved so they can continue to be proud of what they’ve done in the game.

“I also have a real passion for developing young players and I’m hoping I can produce a New Zealand player out of that soon.

“We need to take the flow from this recent Women’s Cricket World Cup and really build on it because the women’s game is on the rise.”

Wellington awards the Penny Kinsella Trophy, annually, to the Most Valuable Under-19 player.

Devon Conway carried off the ANZ Test Player of the Year Award after starring on debut with a double-century against England at Lord’s, and making two more centuries, while amassing 767 runs at 63.91 over the season.

It completes a remarkable trifecta of ANZ International awards for the 30-year-old Conway, who last year picked up the T20I and ODI awards following his sensational debut season with the BLACKCAPS.


2022 ANZ New Zealand Cricket Awards


Sir Richard Hadlee MedalTim Southee (Northern Districts)

Bert Sutcliffe Medal for Outstanding Services to CricketPenny Kinsella

ANZ International Test Player of the Year: Devon Conway (Wellington Firebirds)

Women’s Domestic Player of the Year: Nensi Patel (Northern Districts)

Men’s Domestic Player of the YearTom Bruce (Central Stags) and Robbie O’Donnell (Auckland Aces)

ANZ International Women’s ODI Player of the Year: Melie Kerr (Wellington Blaze)

ANZ International Men’s ODI Player of the Year: Will Young (Central Stags)

The Redpath Cup for first-class batting: Devon Conway (Wellington Firebirds)

The Ruth Martin Cup for women’s domestic batting: Suzie Bates (Otago Sparks) 

The Winsor Cup for first-class bowling: Tim Southee (Northern Districts)

The Phyl Blackler Cup for women’s domestic bowlingEden Carson (Otago Sparks)

G.J. Gardner Homes New Zealand Umpire of the Year: Chris Gaffaney

ANZ International Women’s T20 Player of the Year: Sophie Devine (Wellington Blaze)

ANZ International Men’s T20 Player of the Year: Trent Boult (Northern Brave)

Women’s Dream11 Super Smash Player of the Year: Melie Kerr (Wellington Blaze)

Men’s Dream11 Super Smash Player of the Year: Michael Bracewell (Wellington Firebirds)   

ANZ Fan Moment of the Summer: Ross Taylor’s final wicket in his last Test


2022 Community Awards

Gillette Venus Young Player of the Year: Fran Jonas (Auckland Cricket) 

Gillette Young Player of the Year: Jacob Cumming (Otago Cricket)

Club of the Year: Pleasant Point Cricket Club (South Canterbury)

Volunteer of the Year: Jeremy Dean (Eastern Suburbs & Wellington Wanderers)

Community Cricket Activator of the Year: Frances Stewart (Cricket Wellington)

Official of the Year: Brendon Davies (Northern Districts)

Best Female Engagement Initiative: Young Leaders (Cricket Wellington)

Outstanding Contribution and Services to Coaching: Maria Lankeshwar (nee Fahey) (Sydenham Cricket Club)

Outstanding Contribution to Cricket: Anthony de Joux (Celtic Cricket Club)

Best Diversity and Inclusion Initiative: Counties Manukau Premier League (Counties Manukau)

Community Cricket Collaboration Initiative of the Year: Canterbury Cricket

Sir Jack Newman: Gerard Finnie (Otago Cricket)

Article added: Thursday 14 April 2022