Club and competition Players of the Year celebrated

The outstanding performers in Cricket Wellington’s senior club competitions and the Firebirds competitions have been celebrated on Day four of Cricket Wellington’s Celebration of Cricket.

Troy Johnson was named Ford Trophy Player’s Player of the Year after a strong season in the one-day arena.

Johnson was the sixth leading run-scorer in the competition with 281 runs at an average of 40.14, helping the Firebirds to a third-place finish in the competition.

Nathan Smith celebrated a solid first season in Wellington after being named the Plunket Shield Player’s Player of the Year.

The bowling allrounder finished as the competition’s joint leading wicket-taker with 31 wickets, including two five-wicket bag and career-best figures of 6-54 against his former side the Otago Volts on his Firebirds debut.

Smith also offered handy runs in the lower to middle order scoring 231 runs across the season.

Firebirds captain Michael Bracewell was named the Firebirds Super Smash Player’s Player of the Year, the same day he took home the Overall Dream11 Super Smash Player of the Year.

The all-rounder topped the run-scoring charts with 478 at an average of 79.67, including an incredible 141 not out off 65 balls against the Central Stags – a New Zealand T20 domestic record.

Bracewell’s outstanding performances were rewarded with selection in the BLACKCAPS ODI and T20 squads for the series against the Netherlands earlier this month.

The all-rounder also took home the Overall Player’s Player of the Year, capping off a memorable summer for the skipper.

Petone-Riverside’s Caitlin King was named the Senior Women’s Club Cricketer of the Year.

King scored 399 runs and took 17 wickets across the summer helping her side to second place in the Joy Lamason Trophy one-day competition – their best ever finish.

Eastern Suburbs’ Lauchie Johns topped off a strong week of awards taking home the Senior Men’s Club Cricketer of the Year award.

Johns scored 1098 runs across all three formats this season, just 85 runs off breaking Stewie Dempster’s record of 1182 runs in the 1928/29 season.

He also scored the highest premier score of the summer with 212 against Johnsonville in the Ewen Chatfield Trophy and scored 149 in the T20 Cup final to help his side lift the trophy.

Cricket Wellington’s Celebration of Cricket will continue tomorrow with the final day of awards, as the Blaze and Firebirds Players of the ear, as well as the Umpire and Scorers of the Year are recognised.

Celebration of Cricket | 2021/22 Award Winners

Dream11 Super Smash Player’s layer of the Year – Michael Bracewell
Ford Trophy Player’s Player of the Year – Troy Johnson
Plunket Shield Player’s Player of the Year – Nathan Smith
Overall Player’s Player of the Year – Michael Bracewell
Men’s Best Fielder – Nathan Smith
Women’s Best Fielder – Georgia Plimmer
Men’s Best Allrounder – Michael Bracewell
Women’s Best Allrounder – Melie Kerr
Most Promising Female Player – Georgia Plimmer
Most Promising Male Player – Tim Robinson
Provincial A Men’s Player of the Year – Devan Vishvaka
Provincial A Women’s Player of the Year – Kate Chandler
U23 Young Cricketer of the Year – Rachin Ravindra
U20 Young Cricketer of the Year – Tim Robinson
U19 Female Player of the Year – Rachel Bryant
U19 Male Player of the Year – Kevin Weerasundara


Women’s Senior Club Cricketer of the Year – Caitlin King
Men’s Senior Club Cricketer of the Year – Lauchie Johns
Best Lower Grade Performance – Andy Ellis (Eastern Suburbs)
Arthur Dick Cup (most runs in premier men) – Lauchie Johns
Judith Sadler Cup (most runs in premier women) – Antonia Hamilton
Ron Murray Cup (most wickets in premier men) – Felix Murray
Majorie Sweetman Cup (most wickets in premier women) – Bethany Trethewey
Royal Visit Cup (Wellington Aggregate) – Eastern Suburbs
Norwood Cup (Wellington Average) – Upper Hutt United
Best and Fairest Club Captain – Nik Swain (Taita District)
Best and Fairest Team – Taita District Premier Men
Ground of the Year – Fraser Park

Article added: Tuesday 12 April 2022