Wellington Under 19 Squad Named

Cricket Wellington is pleased to announce the Whiting Financial Services Wellington Under 19 squad to compete in the National Tournament at Lincoln from 13th-21st December.

The squad will head to Lincoln with seven players from last year’s national tournament winning team returning to defend the title.

Head coach Sri Krishnamurthy, who has just returned from coaching NZ A on their tour of the UAE, said selecting the squad was particularly difficult this year given the amount of talent available in the Wellington region.

“For the second year running we find a few quality young cricketers unable to make the tournament squad. This speaks volumes about our pathway programs and the quality of young players coming through,” he said.

“The focus is now on preparing the tournament squad to try and emulate the batch of 2017/18. We expect the campaign to be challenging, but also one that we are heading into with excitement and hopefully a lot of these selected players put up their hands and represent our province well.”

Cricket Wellington pathway manager Chris Nevin was confident the squad named was a strong one.

“I think I said something similar after the naming of the squad last year, but the strength of a team can often be shown by players that don’t make the final squad, and there were some incredibly tough calls to make on players that had prepared well through the winter and performed in the warm-up games.

“There is some exciting talent coming through and watching the squad train so hard over the last few months, along with the skills that have been on show, gives me confidence that the future of cricket in Wellington is very bright.”

The squad will begin it’s title defence on December 13 at the New Zealand Cricket High Performance Centre in Lincoln.

Wellington Under 19 squad:

Nick Greenwood ©        (Taita District CC)

Tim Campbell                  (Wellington College)

Angus Hazleton               (Scots College)

Harry Hunter                   (Wellington College)

Thomas Jones                  (St Pats Silverstream)

Sam Mycock                    (Victoria University CC)

Tim Robinson                  (Wellington College)

Gareth Severin                (Johnsonville CC)

Dylan Sharma                  (Wellington College)

Haydon Smith                 (Johnsonville CC)

Jesse Tashkoff                 (Hutt District CC)

Jono Tuffin                      (St Pats Silverstream)

Devan Vishvaka               (Wellington College)


Head Coach – Sri Krishnamurthy

Assistant Coach – Neeraj Chawla

Manager – Jeremy Sprott

Selector – Keith Bitchener