Strong cricket presence in Sportsperson of the Year finalists

There will be a strong cricket presence at the Wellington Hospitality Group Wellington Sportsperson of the Year Awards in June.

Nine cricket representatives have been named as finalists in seven of the 12 categories, with teams and individuals up for some of the most prestigious awards.

Wellington Blaze and WHITE FERNS star Amelia Kerr and Sophie Devine are both up for the Sportswoman of the Year Awards and Wellington Firebird Devon Conway is a finalist for the Sportsman of the Year Award.

Recently retired Firebirds coach Bruce Edgar is up for the Coach of the Year Award after his memorable final season with the Firebirds which yielded a men’s one-day Ford Trophy competition win.

The Blaze and the Firebirds have both been named as finalists for the Team of the Year Award, while Blaze captain Liz Perry is up for the Personality of the Year Award.

Cricket will also be in contention for recognition off the field.

Long-time scorer Ian Smith, who brought his 56-year long career to and end in March, is a finalist for Volunteer of the Year, and Cricket Wellington chair Sally Morrison is a finalist for the Trish McKelvey Leadership Award.

The 40th edition of the Wellington Sportsperson of the Year Awards will be held at TSB Arena on June 19.