Sir Jack Newman Award Nominations Open

The Sir Jack Newman Award, which comprises a trophy consisting of a greenstone cricket ball, a formal certificate, and a grant of $2,000 which the recipient is able to direct to any area of junior cricket, was established in 1982. The award is presented by the NZC Foundation to an outstanding junior cricket administrator for his or her past and present services to the development of junior cricket in New Zealand.

Nominations are now invited for the 2017 award. The procedure for nominating an individual is as follows:

  • Any individual or association may put forward a nomination
  • All nominations must be submitted through the nominee’s Major Association
  • New Zealand Cricket will accept one nomination per Major Association
  • All nominations must be accompanied by a curriculum vitae detailing the contribution the nominee has made to junior cricket in the area in which he or she lives or has lived

Individuals or Clubs wishing to nominate a candidate or candidates for the Sir Jack Newman Award should forward the nomination or nominations, along with full details of the contribution each nominee has made to junior cricket administration, to their Liz Perry ( no later than Monday 5th February 2018. Cricket Wellington will select one nominee to forward on to the selection panel for consideration.

The trophy and grant will be presented to the recipient at the ANZ New Zealand Cricket Awards in early April 2018.

The Sir Jack Newman Award is a prestigious award for those involved in cricket at the grass roots level and it is important that cricket continues to recognize the significant contribution that many people provide at this level, be it in administration, coaching or some other field.

Recipients of the award include:
1996 – John Billcliff (Otago)
1997 – Alan Whimp (Northern Districts)
1998 – Brian Keats (Wellington)
1999 – Arthur Lennan (Auckland)
2000 – Bill Duncan (Canterbury)
2001 – Warwick Buckman (Thames Valley)
2002 – John Threlkeld (Sth Canterbury)
2003 – Michael Rhoades (Marlborough)
2004 – Russell Smith (Northland)
2005 – Chris Gillies (Auckland)
2006 – Derek Cockburn (Canterbury)
2007 – Michael Cotter (Waikato Valley)
2008 – Stephen Jones (Auckland)
2010 – John Grocott (Canterbury)
2011 – Nick Craig (Auckland)
2012 – Ross Parlane (Auckland)
2013 – David Ireland (Wellington)
2014 – Don Stewart (Central Districts)
2015 – Peter Burke (Canterbury)
2016 – Tony Edwards (Northern Districts)