Karori claim T20 title

Karori CC 160-8 (Blundell 60, Younghusband 31, Neesham 3-32) beat Hutt Districts CC 145-8 (Neesham 27, Ravindra 25, Bhula 2-8) by 16 runs at the Basin Reserve in Wellington

Karori claimed the Wellington T20 competition with a strong 16-run win over Hutt Districts at the Basin Reserve.


After batting first in beating Eastern Suburbs in their semi-final, Karori did the same on the Basin Reserve. They ran up 161-8 in their 20 overs, the innings underpinned by a partnership of 76 in nine overs for the third wicket between Tom Blundell and captain Peter Younghusband.

Hamish Marshall, Michael Pollard and Jono Sole all chipped in usefully before Karori lost their last four wickets for 15 runs in a final two-over flurry.

Jimmy Neesham was the pick of a tidy Hutt Districts bowling effort, taking three wickets, while Iain McPeake took two and Rachin Ravindra one.

Hutt, who had beaten Onslow in their semi-final, began well in reply with Ravindra and Sadiq Mohamed putting on 26 for the first wicket and the fifty came up in the fifth over.

However, the scoring rate began to slip and the wicket of Neesham at the start of the 15th over with just 99 on the board, caught by Younghusband off Jakob Bhula, was crucial.

Sole and Jarred Sewell bowled tightly in the latter stages and restricted Hutt to 145-8 in their 20 overs for a 16 run win.