Eastern Suburbs and Johnsonville set for Pearce Cup Final

Easter weekend’s Pearce Cup final sees Eastern Suburbs and Johnsonville take to the Basin Reserve for the final piece of senior silverware on offer this season.

With both sides having suffered a finals’ defeat already this season (Johnsonville to Onslow in the Ewen Chatfield One Day competition and Easts to Karori in the CricHQ T20 Cup), there will be an added incentive to lock something away in the trophy cabinet over winter.

For Eastern Suburbs, Jamie Gibson has starred with the bat this season, finishing third in the overall run-scorers charts. Fraser Colson, who contributed key innings to get the side to the T20 final, returns from Firebirds’ duty and will be eager to help the club go one better over Easter.

Right-arm bowler, Gibson also finished in second spot on the wicket-takers list, cementing his place as the form all-rounder of this season’s premier men’s competition. Former Irish international, Peter Connell and Easts stalwart, Ricky Joseph also locked in top 10 performances with the ball, and they’re likely to again play a key role as East’s look to add yet another Pearce Cup title.

One spot below Gibson on the run charts is Johnsonville’s Andrew Salter. Unfortunately for the side, he has already returned to Glamorgan to prepare for another County season. Johnsonville, however, have also seen Raki Weerasundara and Scott Mudgway enjoy good form with the bat this season while Sam Outtrim hit a century against Easts just a couple of rounds ago.

As well as missing Salter, also their leading wicket-taker, Johnsonville’s squad for the final also sees Vishi Jeet as a notable absentee. Jeet took 25 wickets this season, the same number that Zac Ringrose claimed as he becomes their key bowler for this weekend’s encounter.

The match starts at 10.30am on Friday 30th April and will start at the same time on Saturday before moving to a 9.30am start on Sunday to accommodate the daylight-saving change.

Chris Leach – Captain
Rakitha Weerasundara
Gareth Severin
Hareen Silva
Hashan Goonetilleke
Scott Mudgway
Scott Edgecombe
Samuel Millmow
Sam Outtrim
Tom Eathorne
Dominic McAlister
Zac Ringrose
Rushmin Batuwantudawe

Eastern Suburbs
Lance Dry
Matt Ansell
Fraser Colson
Peter Connell
Jeremy Dean
Andrew Fullerton-Smith
Luke Georgeson
Jamie Gibson
Lauchie Johns
Ricky Joseph
Jimad Khan
Jed Wiggins