Club – Female

Cricket Wellington is one of only four districts in New Zealand to offer female club competitions. Three leagues are currently run with a competition to all from senior to youth (Under 18) leagues.

Premier Women Competition

The Premier Women Competition has four established teams. Each team competes weekly from November-March in both the ‘Maureen Peters Twenty20’ and Joy Lamason Trophy’ 40 over competition. Both competitions conclude with separate finals to be played in mid-March.

Competing clubs have one mid-week training session (at their club ground) and one match per week which is played on Saturday mid-morning/afternoon. Each club offers a friendly and enjoyable environment to those who wish to play competitive senior cricket and are always welcoming to new/additional players.

Club Catchment locality
Hutt District Lower Hutt
Johnsonville Johnsonville, Newlands, Churton Park
Onslow Khandallah, Newlands, Ngaio
Wellington Collegians Wellington City

Premier 2 Twenty20 League

The P2 Twenty20 League is played on Saturdays. This league provides a competition for players who enjoy the game to compete in a friendly, social environment without the commitment to weekly trainings. Teams compete on a Saturday afternoon and are always keen to attract new members of all abilities with teams and contacts as listed below:

Club Catchment Locality
Eastern Suburbs Kilbirnie, Seatoun, Hataitai, Mirimar, Lyall Bay, Island Bay
Johnsonville Johnsonville, Newlands & Ngaio
Petone Riverside Petone
Stokes Valley Stokes Valley
Taita Taita
Upper Hutt Upper Hutt

Premier Girls League

The Premier Girls League is played on Saturday afternoons and is targeted mainly for girls in Years 8-13; playing a mixture of 30 over & T20 matches. Clubs have a weekly training session where they learn the essentials skills to play and succeed in cricket to the best of every individuals’ ability. Open to all and inclusive to all levels of players (beginner to experienced), clubs offer a warm and welcoming environment to everybody who wants to play and enjoy cricket.

Club Address
Hutt Districts Lower hutt
North City Tawa, Porirua, Mana, Plimmerton, Whitby
Wellington Collegians Wellington City

For further information contact:

Eimear Richardson
Community Development Officer – Female Cricket
Ph:04 801 2851
Mobile: 021 079 1670
Email: e.richardson@firebirds.co.nz