Club Awards Recognise Season’s Best

Last week the Cricket Wellington Club Awards were held in the Basin Reserve’s Norwood Room to recognise the season’s best at the game’s grassroots.

Having secured a 15th Pearce Cup in the last 17 seasons, the Eastern Suburbs Premier Men’s side were on hand to collect their trophy. Their star all-rounder, Jamie Gibson, saw his superb season rewarded with the Rothbury Wilkinson Premier Men’s Club Cricketer of the Year Award. He scored 805 runs at an average above 47 while also claiming 38 wickets at a useful average of 16.63.

Lucy Doolan, who made a successful return to the Wellington Blaze this season, was rewarded for her strong season with the Senior Women’s Cricketer of the Year Award. Lucy averaged 120 with the bat for Johnsonville and just 13.33 with the ball. The Johnsonville club benefited from the presence of Doolan among a strong squad, winning both senior women’s competitions. Their strength in the female game was reinforced with wins in three other age-grade competitions as well.

One of the most obvious awards handed out was given to Deepak Joon, who scored the most runs (1130) in men’s Premier cricket this summer. Joon became just second man to score 1000 runs in a club season, following in the illustrious footsteps of Stewie Dempster who hit 1182 in the 1928-29 season. The last player to achieve the feat is also the only player to have done it multiple times: former-WHITE FERN Penny Kinsella having hit 1000+ in each of the 1990-91, 1992-93, and 1997-98 seasons.

In the lower grades, Joe Drysdale of the fourth grade Eastern Suburbs’ Aces, claimed 9 for 17, a performance that wasn’t bettered in lower grade cricket this season. For his efforts, which included another 4 wickets to total 13 for the match, Joe was presented with a top of the line Kookaburra bat from Kilbirnie Sports.

The Awards also honoured those whose contribution to the game is not made with bat or ball, with Kevin Wakefield rewarded for his preparation of the Hutt Recreation Ground’s pitches and Cheryl Styles recognised as Scorer of the Year in a season where she scored her 400th Premier fixture. Cricket Wellington Umpires and Scorers’ (CWUSI) chair, Jeremy Busby, was honoured with the Mike Curtis Cup for Services to Club Cricket. As well as he contribution to administration through CWUSI, Jeremy also plays a key role in the development of umpires and in building relationships through the game, through some 40 years of experience, Jeremy has stood in more than 600 Premier club matches on parks around the country.

Cricket Wellington extends its congratulations and thanks to all involved in cricket in the capital this summer. Let’s do it all again next year!


You can view some photos from the evening on our Facebook page here.



Award Winners
Pearce Cup Eastern Suburbs
Hazlett Trophy Taita
Rothbury Wilkinson Ewen Chatfield Cup Onslow
CricHQ T20 Cup Karori
Senior Women’s T20 Johnsonville
Senior Women’s 40 Over Johnsonville
Rothbury Wilkinson Premier Reserve One-Day Karori
Alan Isaac Cup Petone-Eastbourne
Premier Reserve Section 2 Taita
First Grade Wainuiomata
Second Grade WISC – Desi Boys
Third Grade Eastern Suburbs Super Challengers
Fourth Grade Wainuiomata
Intercity One-Day Division 1 Johnsonville Falcons
Intercity One-day Division 2 Taita Yodahs
Wellington T20 Section 1 Karori Wildcats & North City Bears
Wellington T20 Section 2 Victoria University Cricket Central Wgtn
Wellington T20 Section 3 Eastern Suburbs Cobras
Hutt Valley T20 Section 1 Naenae T20 Gold
Women’s T20 Stokes Valley
Girls Youth 30 Over Johnsonville
Premier Girl’s T20 Johnsonville
Premier Girl’s Rothford’s Cup Johnsonville


Award Winner
Royal Visit Cup – Wellington Aggregate Eastern Suburbs
Norwood Cup – Wellington Average Eastern Suburbs
Best Lower Grade Performance Joe Drysdale – 9/17 in a 4th Grade Match
Majorie Sweetman – Leading Women’s Wicket-Taker Christine Blunden – 11 Wickets, Average 20.55
Judith Sadler – Leading Women’s Run-Scorer Lucie Gordon – 413 Runs, Average 45.89
Ron Murray – Leading Men’s Wicket-Taker Ben Skilton – 40 Wickets, Average 21.82
Arthur Dick – Leading Men’s Run-Scorer Deepak Joon – 1051 Runs, Average 80.85
J Atkin Cup – Best Premier Bowling Performance Ben McMahon – 8/78
May Cup – Highest Score in Premier Cricket Devon Conway – 180 not out
Sam Platt Cup – Best Performance Devon Conway – 180 not out (after team were 28/6)
Ground of Year Hutt Rec –- Kevin Wakefield
Best & Fairest Club Team Hutt District
Tararua and Dempster Shield Player of the Year Deepak Joon
Mike Curtis Cup – Services to Club Cricket Jeremy Busby
Trish McKelvey Medal Lucy Doolan
Bruce Murray Medal Deepak Joon
Best and Most Enterprising Captain Chris Leach
Scorer of the Year Cheryl Styles –- 400th Premier Fixture this season
Stanley Cowman Cup Garth Stirrat
Senior Women’s Club Cricketer of the Year Lucy Doolan – 243 runs @ 120, 6 wickets @ 13.33 & 4 catches
Premier Men’s Club Cricketer of the Year Jamie Gibson – 805 runs @ 47.35, 38 wickets @ 16.63, 6 catches & 2 run outs